The Department of Geology presently offers degrees in Bachelor of Science (BS) with Honours, Master of Science (MS), Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Geology. The Department also offers minor courses for Honours students of other departments.

The BS (Hons) is a four-year integrated programme consisting 126 credit hours of theory, practical, field mapping, project and viva voce (oral) courses as majors and 20 credit hours of physics, chemistry and mathematics courses as minors. The MS degree is a one-year programme based either on course work (Group A) or on course work along with research (Group B). The MPhil is a two-year programme of course work and research. The PhD programme essentially involves research work. The Department enrolls 50 students in each academic year as first-year honours students.