Scholarships and Awards


Parvez Memorial Scholarship

Established since 2000 by the family members of deceased faculty Mr. Parvez Hasan offering a monthly scholarship of Tk 350 to a current MS student who secured the highest CGPA at the BS final examination.

Prof. Muhammad Abdul Hai and Prof. Manzoor Hasan Scholarship

Established in 2009 by former faculty Prof. Manzoor Hasan offering a one time scholarship of Tk 10,000 to the student securing the highest GPA in 3rd Year Final Examination.

Prof. M A Latif Scholarship

It has been set up at the Department in 2018 with contributions from the family members of Prof. M A Latif, former faculty of the department. A monthly scholarship of Tk. 5000 is awarded preferably to a female student of 1st year B.S. Honours class, with provisions for renewal up to 4th year, based on both economic conditions and academic result.


Shah Alam Mazumder Trust Fund

This Trust Fund’ has been established in 2017 by Dr. Md Shah Alam Majumder, a geology alumni to award a Gold Medal to the student securing the highest CGPA in BS Honours Final Examination.

Sabrina Sharmin Memorial Trust Fund

Established in 2017 by the students of 32nd Geology Honours batch in memory of their friend and classmate Late Sabrina Sharmin offering a one time award of Tk 10,000 to the student securing the highest GPA in 1st Year Final Examination.

Dean's Award

Students obtaining BS Honours degree in Geology with CGPA of 3.75 or above without taking any improvement examination or readmission in any academic session shall be eligible for the Dean’s Award under the Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences. In addition, the student must have attendance record of 75% or more during the course of study.